Rose Talk Australia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Latest topics
» Watch This Space, more info coming.
by The Lazy Rosarian 21st September 2018, 06:25

» A Rose by any other name ...
by The Lazy Rosarian 17th September 2018, 19:26

» Looking for "St Brigid's Rose"
by The Lazy Rosarian 11th August 2018, 06:50

» And for David while he is away.
by neptune 19th July 2018, 23:57

» Wanting to talk with old roserian friends again, and new roserians friends too !
by rosemeadowtasmania 14th July 2018, 22:54

» Premature Petal dropping- Perth
by rosemeadowtasmania 5th July 2018, 15:27

» Vale: Meryl Constance
by rosemeadowtasmania 5th July 2018, 13:55

» Newbie to roses and forums for that matter!
by Steph 28th June 2018, 09:39

First Post

+2
Admin
russcole
6 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

First Post Empty First Post

Post by russcole 16th May 2009, 01:58

I am a retired Farmer now living in a small unit with limited space All my roses are in pots so I can move them about and crowd them up under timed watering systems when I travel in winter,
I live at Deniliquin NSW near the Victorian Border(very hot summers short cold winters) Roses do well here but the heat this year really knoced mine about.
All roses are for breeding and so far I have 8 varieties of 3 separate lines I am working with. All are HTs with proven fertility and my first aim is to breed very good form with good scent. When I get my own breeders I will introduce Noisette to improve health characteristics.
That is the aim but at this stage the battle is to get good germination so I can apply selection pressure
This year I should have 2-3000 seeds (estimated from hip nos.) Harvest is not complete I am waiting on some to colour and there are many OPs that will have to mature over winter (I stopped pollinating in Dec then left all blooms to the bees)